add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

bought used computer with Intel Core i7 3770K

crzymind88
  • 2 months ago

hey guys im new to building so i been doing research. so i happen to run speccy on a used computer i bought a few years ago just to understand a little more aboout the budling process and i realized i have a Intel Core i7 3770K in it.

I was wondering can this still be used for a good gaming setup. would it be good to remove and to put it into more updated setup?

new to this so im not sure really and youtube only helps so much

Comments

• 1 month ago
  • 2 points

I have a system that I built from used parts that has an E3-1245 v2, which is basically the Xeon version of the Core i7-3770. I have it paired with an RX 580 and it still does rather good with games. With the RX 580 it will play anything at 1080p while getting good framerates.

You can't just pull the CPU out and put it elsewhere. The motherboard it goes into needs to have a matching socket type and the BIOS has to be able to recognize the CPU. You can use Speccy to find out which motherboard you have in your system. CPU-Z is another program that will tell you which motherboard you have. You might have a good z68 or z77 motherboard already for all you know. It's probably not worth the hassle to separate the CPU and motherboard. I would suggest doing more research on your system to see what you can do with it.